Council Updates

The University of Miami announced that Dr. Julio Frenk, current Dean of Faculty at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and Mexico’s former Minister of Health, will be the University’s next president. Dr. Frenk will succeed Donna E. Shalala, who has led the University of Miami since 2001 and served under President Bill Clinton as the longest-serving U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. He will begin his UM Presidency on August 16th.

Sub-Committees of the Medical School Faculty Council

Centers/Institutes – Dr. Ingrid Vasiliu-Feltes, Chair
Bylaws Committee – Dr. Derek Dykxhoorn, Chair
Decanal Review Committee – Dr. JoNell Potter, Chair
Legislative Oversight Committee – Dr. Tatjana Rundek, Chair


Stay tuned for more information regarding committee membership and charge statements.